Free shipping from €70 within NL, €90 in BE

What are chakras and what chakras are there?

What are chakras?

Chakras are energy centers that flow throughout the body, and they have their origins in ancient Indian spiritual traditions, especially in yoga philosophy. The word 'chakra' comes from Sanskrit and means 'wheel' or 'disk', which refers to their circular and rotating nature. These spinning wheels of energy are believed to flow vital life force, also called prana, throughout the body and are connected to both physical and non-physical aspects of our being.

In total, seven major chakras are usually recognized, each associated with specific parts of the body and certain psychological and spiritual characteristics. Each chakra has its own color, element, mantra and symbolic meaning. It is important to understand that the chakras not only work on their own, but also connect with each other and influence our overall well-being.

The chakras act as centers of energy exchange and are involved in regulating our emotions, thoughts, bodily functions and spiritual growth. When the chakras are balanced, energy flows smoothly through our body, resulting in a feeling of well-being, harmony and vitality. If one or more chakras are out of balance, physical or emotional complaints may arise.

Understanding and consciously working with the chakras is a way to promote our inner growth and increase our consciousness. This can be done through meditation, yoga, breathing exercises, visualizations and other techniques to balance and heal the chakras.

The concept of chakras has received increasing attention in the modern world, not only in spiritual circles, but also in holistic medicine, alternative therapies and personal development. People are increasingly looking for ways to improve their well-being and achieve balance, and the knowledge and practice of chakras can be valuable tools in this regard.

So, with a basic understanding of what chakras are, we can now continue our journey of exploring the different chakras, including the mysterious energy centers located above our bodies. Let yourself be carried away by the swirling power of the chakras and reveal the potential for transformation and enlightenment they have to offer!

Chakras affirmations

What chakras are there?

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara):

Let's start with the basics - the root chakra. This is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine. It represents our physical foundation, security and stability. Strengthen this chakra to improve your grounding and create a strong foundation.

Root chakra

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana):

The sacral chakra, located just below the navel, is connected to our creativity, emotions and sexuality. Stimulating this chakra can help release blockages and promote passion and vitality.

Sacral chakra

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura):

The third chakra, the solar plexus, is located just above the navel. This chakra is related to our personal strength, self-confidence and willpower. Activating this chakra can help you follow your own path and realize your full potential.

Solar plexus chakra

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata):

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, and it is the center of love, compassion and connection. Opening this chakra can bring healing to relationships, both with others and with yourself.

Heart chakra

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha):

The fifth chakra, the throat chakra, is located near the throat and is associated with communication and self-expression. Activating this chakra can help you speak your truth and make your voice heard.

Throat Chakra

6. Brow Chakra (Ajna):

The brow chakra, also called the third eye, is located between the eyebrows. This chakra is connected to intuition, clairvoyance and inner knowing. Opening this chakra can increase your inner wisdom.

Third eye chakra

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

The seventh chakra, the crown chakra, is located on top of the head and is connected to spirituality and higher consciousness. Activating this chakra can lead to deeper spiritual experiences and a sense of oneness with the universe.

Crown chakra

8. Chakras above the body:

In addition to the seven main chakras located in our bodies, there are also energy centers that extend beyond our physical being. Although there are different interpretations, it is believed that these chakras connect to higher dimensions and support our spiritual growth process. Some of these chakras include the soul star chakra, the stellar chakra and the universal chakra.


The chakras are an intriguing system that can influence our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well-being. By becoming aware of these energy centers and bringing them into balance, we can achieve a deeper level of harmony and vitality. Whether you are new to the world of the chakras or already familiar with their power, this journey through the energy centers of the body and mind is sure to inspire you to discover and embrace your inner potential. Explore the healing powers of the chakras and let them guide you on your path to balance and well-being.

Chakras: from negativity to positivity

Leave a comment